Hiking the Highlands of Lima

My relationship with nature has been a constant process of learning from the very start when I swore I would never do it again. During those early days, I took advantage of the 3 or 4 days of Easter to go on camping with my friends to Cerro Azul, a very popular beach south of Lima. But I did not feel comfortable as they liked drinking too much beer which made no sense to me. I was looking for a fraternal contact with nature and landscape.Thus, I met a group of elderly people named Los Caminantes (the hikers) who made short hikes on Sundays. That experience helped me know the rural areas which surround the city of Lima and are rarely visited by local people.

However, I wanted to spend more time in the countryside and overnight below the stars. I began attending clubs like Club Andino Peruano, where I learned that a true backpacker always carries his backpack without the help of porters and horses; the Americo Tordaya Club, where I took a rock climbing course; and finally I met the guys of  the club called Tarpuy which means to blossom in Quechua.With Tarpuy, I hiked many trails located over 10,000 feet above sea level. What I recall the best now, however, is the 4-day Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in Cusco, and our camping in the foothills of the snow-capped mountain of Pastoruri in Huaraz to ski the next day. I was not even 20, when I lived this fascinating story of brotherhood that comes to be in a different environment where all people help each other not to go hungry or cold.

At that time, I used to go on camping without any equipment or very basic. For example, I had no tent and often wore only a blanket or sleeping bag to protect against the cold as shown in the picture below. Now, however, I am better equipped because, over the years, I bought my tent, stove, and sleeping mat. They are things that I treasure so much.

"hiking"

Even with mended lens, I keep on hiking. By the way, she is the photographer´s wife.

An unforgettable experience was walking along the coast of Lima. Every weekend, I walked a certain stretch of coast and the next weekend I started where I had stopped. Then, at night, I lay on the sand to sleep until the next day. I walked some stretches alone, but I managed to convince some friends to accompany me too.Then, I decided to visit the main towns of the Andes in the department of Lima and its archaeological sites. I still remember Rupac, the archaeological site known as Lima´s Machu Picchu which also includes the sites of Chiprac and Añay in the province of Huaral north of Lima. And I could not leave Lima without knowing the archaeological complex of Caral, one of the oldest in America, according to recent research.

"Rupac: the Lima´s Machu Picchu"

The city of Lima is located on the coast, but most towns in the department of Lima are situated in the Andes. Thus, I have always been curious to sightseeing them. I have fond memories of my trips to towns such as Oyon, Cajatambo, Yauyos, and Matucana. Then I wanted to know other places of Peru, and one of my first long trips I did was to visit Kuelap in the department of Amazonas.

You may want to read these posts too:

Downtown Lima

Lima Balconies

China town in Lima

About Peru En RoUte

Natural-born backpack traveller around Peru
This entry was posted in Lima and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

