Impressive Snow Capped Mountain

It is ironic.

The pilot has already warned all the passengers to turn off all electronic devices because the plane is about to land at the Velasco Astete airport in Cusco. Just at that moment, the horizon gives you the most impressive view of all the flight through the left window of the plane.

I am not sure whether this is the Salkantay or the Ausangate snow-capped mountain range (Salkantay is my bid though), both Apus or shrines for local people in Inca times and nowadays still. I could not help taking these pictures even though the flight attendant was asking me to turn my camera off. Please accept my apology enjoying these beautiful pictures.

snow1
snow2
snow3

Definitely I would do it again…sorry!!! I was so thrilled by the view that I took these 3 pictures plus 10 more (the flight attendant might want to throw me out of the plane, I guess).

You may want to read these posts too:

Inti Raymi in Cusco

Feasts in Cusco

9 reasons to visit Cusco

About Peru En RoUte

Natural-born backpack traveller around Peru
This entry was posted in Cusco and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Impressive Snow Capped Mountain

  1. it is very sad indeed, hope our next generation could see the beauty of the snow capped mountain and in general the beauty of nature

  2. Not only that, but the resulting water loss (from melt into the rivers flowing west) will have serious consequences for many in Peru. Sad and worrying, since we’re not slowing climate change any time soon. 😦

  3. I hope the global warming does not continue reducing the snow capped mountains in the Andes otherwise less and less people would see these beautiful views.

  4. I adore the view flying into/out of Cusco (though less so when flying out, as it means I’m leaving…). The mountains are incredible and I can easily understand why they are Apus. Thank you for sharing these photos

Leave a Reply

